Robert Ivy Becomes The First Architect To Be Honored With Lifetime Achievement Award

The Honors

Recently, Robert was awarded with Lifetime Achievement Award. The award is given to people who have recorded a remarkable performance by offering attractive arts services and other disciplines in the related field.

This marked the first time for an architect to receive Pork Award which is only awarded to the artist who lives in Mississippi. The award is also given to the artists and patrons who have shown commitments over the time by creating, supporting and performing art. In the press release, Nancy LaForge commended Mr. Ivy by stating that ivy is the only person in Mississippi who makes architecture more accessible to the public. Nancy added that Ivy deserved the award for being a commentator, an author, and a writer and that being Noel Polk Award honorees is his rightful place.

The president, Carl Elefante of American Institute of Architects (AIA), congratulated Robert Ivy for his unique honor and added that he is worthy to be an ambassador in his profession since 2011.

Robert joined a small list of famous Mississippians to be honored including singer Leontyne Prince, the late artist Walter Anderson, actor Morgan Freeman and Writers Shelby Foote and Eudora Welty.

Read more: Robert Ivy Receives Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement Award

Robert Ivy’s previous honors include the description Master Architect by the state architecture fraternity Alpha Rho Chi and dean medal in 2010 from University of Arkansas Fay Jones School of Architecture. He shares the designation with architects Dr. Nathan Clifford Ricker, John Wellborn, Eliel Saarinen, Cass Gilbert and many others and among them, Ivy is the first one to receive this award in world’s 100-year history and the first one to be chosen in the 21st century.

Robert Ivy attended Tulane University where he received a master in architect and Sewanee: The University of the South where he earned Bachelor of Arts in English. He became the editor in 1996 for Chief of Architecture Record. He later became the editorial director and V. President of McGraw-Hill Construction Media. From 1981 to 1996 Robert Ivy was the principal at Dean Dale, critic and Dean &Ivy for several national publications. He became the Editor in 1996 for Architectural Record which he managed to make it grow and became the most read architectural journal in the world.

He was among the juror that choose architect Frank Gehry to be the designer of Dwight D. Eisenhower Monument. Robert Ivy is the CEO and Executive Vice President of American Institute of Architects (AIA) since 2011.